[MGSA-L] MGSA welcomes book submission to the Edmund Keeley Prize 2022: deadline April 1st!

MGSA exec. director mgsa.org at gmail.com
Mon Feb 14 05:43:26 PST 2022

Edmund Keeley Book Prize
[image: Edmund Keeley]

The Edmund Keeley Book Prize is awarded to an academic book dealing with
modern Greece or a Hellenic theme published originally in the English

At the MGSA Executive Board meeting of November 2005, it was resolved that
the MGSA Book Prize should be named in honor of Edmund Keeley, founding
member and first president of the MGSA, in recognition of his distinguished
contributions, as pioneering translator and critic, to the broad
dissemination and scholarly study of modern Greek literature in the English
speaking world and to the field of Modern Greek Studies in the United
Selection Committee

The committee is composed of three eligible members. Their selection is
based on the need for disciplinary representation on the committee, with
one of the members being an active member of the MGSA Executive Board and
serving as the chair of the Edmund Keeley Book Prize Selection Committee, a
second being a member of the MGSA but not holding a seat on the
Association's Board and a third member. For each competition, a new
committee is comprised and no committee member shall serve two consecutive

Appointment of the committee takes place during and after the autumn MGSA
Executive Board meeting preceding a Symposium year. At that meeting, the
President of the MGSA shall ask members of the Board to appoint a committee
chair and to make additional nominations of committee members to the chair
of the Edmund Keeley Book Prize Selection Committee. Using these
nominations, it shall be the duty of the chair of the Book Prize Selection
Committee to appoint the additional two members to the committee, with
disciplinary representation as a basis for their selection. It is also
advisable that gender and academic standing be taken into consideration
when making these appointments. Once a committee has been convened, members
of the committee must review its procedures and establish an appropriate
timetable for its work.

The committee's service begins on April 1 of each competition year and,
while the work of the committee is generally completed by the time the
prize is announced at the MGSA Symposium, the committee remains operative
until a subsequent committee is appointed after the autumn Executive Board
meeting preceding the following competition year. The chairperson of the
committee is a voting member of the committee. Committee members are not
permitted to submit their own books while serving on the Edmund Keeley Book
Prize Selection Committee.
Selection Process

Each committee member independently reads and rates the books entered in
the competition and communicates the results of his/her evaluation to the
chairperson of the committee via email. Criteria to be used in making this
evaluation include

   - scholarly rigor
   - innovation
   - impact and importance of the book in terms of breadth of topic and
   - the contribution made to the scholarly understanding of Modern Greek
   - the clarity of writing.

The evaluation results of each committee member should reflect a
rank-ordering of the submissions.

Once a decision has been made, the chair announces the winner of the
competition to the MGSA Executive Director and to the members of the Edmund
Keeley Book Prize Selection Committee. The winner as well as the other
authors who submitted books are notified in writing by the chair of the
committee. The award is publicly made at the next scheduled MGSA Symposium
and the MGSA Executive Director mails the $500 award to the winner.
About Edmund Keeley

Edmund Keeley is the author of seven novels, ten volumes of non-fiction,
and fourteen volumes of poetry in translation. He taught English, Creative
Writing, and Hellenic Studies at Princeton for forty years and retired in
1994 as Charles Barnwell Straut Class of 1923 Professor of English. His
books include *Inventing Paradise: The Greek Journey, 1937-47, On
Translation: Reflections and Conversations, Some Wine for Remembrance* (a
novel), and *Borderlines: A Memoir*.

His work has received the Rome Prize for fiction and the Academy Award in
Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Landon Award
for Translation from the Academy of American Poets, the PEN-Ralph Manheim
Medal for Translation from American PEN, and the Criticos Prize of the
London Hellenic Society for non-fiction.

He served as President of the Modern Greek Studies Association, Vice
President of the Poetry Society of America, and President of PEN American
Center. He also was a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences,
a corresponding member of the Academy of Athens, and a member of the
American PEN Advisory Committee.

In 2001 the President of Greece named him Commander of the Order of the
Phoenix for his contribution to Greek culture, and in 2002 he was elected
Honorary Member of the Hellenic Authors' Society.
★ 2019 Book PrizeKonstantina Zanou

*Transnational Patriotism in the Mediterranean, 1800-1850, Stammering the
Oxford University Press, 2018

See the announcement. <https://mgsasymposium.org/anno-kb.html>
Devin E. Naar 2017

*Jewish Salonica: Between the Ottoman Empire and Modern Greece*, Stanford
University Press, 2016.
Kostis Kornetis 2015

*Children of the Dictatorship: Student Resistance, Cultural Politics, and
the ‘Long 1960s’ in Greece. * Berghahn Books, 2013
Vangelis Calotychos 2013

*The Balkan Prospect: Identity, Culture, and Politics in Greece after
1989* (Palgrave
Macmillan, 2013)    and
Loring Danforth and Riki van Boeschoten   *Children of the Greek Civil War:
Refugees and the Politics of Memory* (U-Chicago Press, 2012), shared First

Honorable Mention
*Theodora Dragostinova*, *Between Two Motherlands: Nationality and
Emigration among the Greeks of Bulgaria, 1900-1949* (Cornell University
Press, 2011)
Neni Panourgiá, 2011

*Dangerous Citizens: The Greek Left and the Terror of the State*,
Fordham University Press 2009
Yannis Hamilakis 2009

*The Nation and its Ruins: Antiquity, Archaeology, and National Imagination
in Greece*, Oxford University Press 2007
Evanthis Hatzivassiliou 2007

*Greece and the Cold War: Frontline State, 1952-1967*. London and New York:
Routledge, 2006.
Violetta Hionidou 2007

*Famine and Death in Occupied Greece, 1941-1944* Cambridge: CUP, 2006
Thomas W. Gallant 2005

*Experiencing Dominion: Culture, Identity, and Power in the British
Mediterranean*, University of Notre Dame Press 2002

Submissions are due by 1 April 2022 covering books published since April

Prize: $500.00 and one year MGSA membership

Submissions from all disciplines within the field of Modern Greek Studies
are welcomed.

Authors must submit three copies of their book(s), not to be returned after
the competition, for consideration to The Modern Greek Studies Association.
For the committee to consider books submitted by third parties (publishers
or someone other than the original author), the MGSA must also receive a
letter to the address below or an email to mgsa.org at gmail.com requesting
that the published book be considered for the prize.

Multiple submissions of different books by the same author are acceptable.

Authors must be current MGSA members when submitting their work; however,
they may not be members of the Edmund Keeley Book Prize Selection Committee.

MGSA Keeley Book Prize
Modern Greek Studies Association
c/o Vangelis Calotychos
Department of Classics
Brown University,
48 College St., Box 1856
Providence, RI 02912-1856
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://maillists.uci.edu/pipermail/mgsa-l/attachments/20220214/2bd051b0/attachment-0001.html>

More information about the MGSA-L mailing list