[MGSA-L] Symphony "1821"

Ilias Chrissochoidis ichriss at stanford.edu
Fri Mar 19 13:07:28 PDT 2021

Dear all,

Nicolas Astrinidis' choral Symphony "1821" is the most ambitious symphonic work on the Greek Revolution in record. The composer takes advantage of the four-part structure of the genre to create a majestic narrative starting with the "Fall" of Constantinople and, through "Slavery" and "Kleftouria" (Scherzo), leading to the "Revolution." Understanding the problem of using the European symphonic idiom to narrate a Greek story, he uses almost exclusively folk and religious texts and melodies, ranging from David's Psalms and the "Resurrection" apolytikion to Rigas' "Thourios" and the National Anthem.

Performed in its entirety only once, the work survives in a few recordings available here:

An electronic edition of the score was completed in 2018:

More on Astrinidis in the following web resources:

Best regards,

Ilias Chrissochoidis, Ph.D.

Research Associate, Department of Music

Academic staff, Stanford Continuing Studies
Stanford University


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://maillists.uci.edu/pipermail/mgsa-l/attachments/20210319/b9d40862/attachment.html>

More information about the MGSA-L mailing list